Food, Food….and for a change of pace…FOOD!


Well my friends, Chicago has been many things…one of which has been some AMAZING eats.  Lets take a look…shall we?!

Breakfast is not only the most important meal of the day, it also happens to be my favorite.

Gotta love a place that has stock Truvia for the coffee!

The menu was HUGE!  I narrowed it down a bit, and finally went with…

West Coast Crepes?!?!  You had me at avocado.

They didn’t skimp on the green stuff, either!

Huge chunks -o- cado!  Yummmmm

Shortly after this meal we walked deeper into the city, where we found a free zoo!  How awesome is that?

MONKEYYYYYY!  Have I mentioned my slight obsession with monkeys?!  There was also a huge exhibit full of sleeping gorillas.  If I didn’t think these gentle giants wouldnt rip me to shreds, I would have hopped in there with them.  I love the monkeys!

But I digress.  Time for more food.

One place I was directed to go for CUPCAKES was a place called Sprinkles.  Considering there are days when I go so far as daydream about cupcakes…I knew this place probably wouldn’t disappoint.

There is nothing like the sweet smell of icing hitting you in the face.  I knew this place and I were going to get along juuuuuuust fine.  How could I choose?!

The carrot cake ended up winning!  The icing looked divine, and everyone knows that is what I go for first!

In typical me fashion, I ripped off the top to save for last…and munched on the actual “cake” part of this beauty.

Super moist, hint of spice…and huge chunks of carrots, and nuts.  Awesome.

Now, what about the icing?!

Best.  Cupcake.  Ever. Seriously, and I am *THE* cupcake expert.

Bravo, Sprinkles…..you sold me big time.

If you are ever in the Chicago area,  you MUST check this place out.

Moving on…….more food!  🙂

The trouble with my brother planning all these food stops, is that he based most of them on “Diners Drive-Ins and Dives” from Food Network.  This made for amazing meals, but not so amazing nutrition facts.  This is a vacation, THIS is a vacation. I had to keep reminding myself of this fact as I was presented with meals such as these…

 

Smoque was a prime example of the classic BBQ joint.  This chopped brisket was great, minus the bun!  I was also not used to a tomato-based bbq sauce…so it was a nice surprise.  I am a fry junkie…and these did not disappoint.

This was also a prime example of a “dive”.  Leave it to my brother to find these places!

Which brings me to a HEALTHY meal!  Trust me, my stomach was more than ready for something a bit lighter.  Let me tell you….I am an official fan of “The Corner Bakery”.  They seem to be everywhere in Chicago, and offer great light/natural/organic options.  Panera like, but better!  I was a big fan.

OATMEAL!!!!!!  My poor stomach was in panic mode, but this meal seemed to calm it back to normal after massive amounts of not-so-healthy options!

Banana/Granola oatmeal with a crisp raisin bread slice.  YUM!

My stomach was also re-introduced to Odwalla juice.  Mmmmm….

Meals like this were few and far in between……but I was ecstatic, and enjoyed every bite.

All in all Chicago has been a great place.  Tons of stuff to do and even MORE stuff to eat.

Back to reality tomorrow, and time for a MAJOR detox for this blogger boy.  I have alot of calories to burn off.  My poor classes are going to hate me. 🙂

Have a great night everyone!  Long day tomorrow with planes, trains, and automobiles!  Back to Tennessee!

 

 

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Food, Food….and for a change of pace…FOOD!

  1. Matt

    I thought you were going to run up the stairs of the Sears Tower to burn it all off…better get to it. I hear Kathy Bates and Rupert Everett wait at the top and hand out cupcakes! 😀

  2. Isn’t Chicago amazing? Looks like you had a great time, and you made me hungry! Safe travels tomorrow.

  3. I’ll go ahead and say it – those fries look perfect…and now I want a fry 🙂 And the cupcake, yum!! My husband’s college bestie and his wife live in Chicago and this post alone inspired me to visit them more!!!

  4. Food & Other Things

    What a fun trip and those cupcakes look amazing!

  5. Tammy

    I LOVELOVELOVE Sprinkles! They have locations in Southern California too! My wallet aches every time I go, but my stomach and taste buds sing 🙂

  6. Sprinkles will be in NYC soon, I can’t wait!!

  7. Anna

    LOVE Sprinkles. I hear their banana cupcakes are to die for!
    I miss your posts! I’m guessing you’ve been quite busy! 😦

Leave a comment