Rainy Day French Toast


what goes better with a dreary day (MONDAY might I add) and rain more than a comforting breakfast?  French Toast was on my mind the instant I woke up.

Theres something about French Toast that really hits that “comfort” button in me.  The eggy/slightly sweet batter with the bread…mmm!

Time to griddle the bad boys up!

Presentation is everything, we eat with our eyes as much as our mouths!

There may have been a dark chocolate chunk or two that found its way into the breakfast. 😉

This was the perfect breakfast to fuel my rainy Monday!

Blogger Boy Healthy French Toast

Batter:

  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 2 TBSP. Fat Free Half & Half (Skim Milk can also be used here!)
  • 1 TBSP. Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 1 TSP. Pure Almond Extract

(Whisk this liquid until smooth and pale yellow…then comes the bread…)

  • 2 Slices of your favorite bread!  Mine is a natural wheat bread with added fiber

Spray your pan or griddle with a little organic olive oil spray (who needs to drown it in butter!), and grill on both sides until crispy and brown.  I paired the toast with a sliced banana, and topped with some dark chocolate chunks.  These can be left off if you are behaving on this particular instance. 😉  I also topped mine a drizzle of maple syrup.  I never understood why people DRENCH their french toast/pancakes in syrup.  Not only does it pour on the calories and fat…but it takes away from the flavor of the french toast!

 

When driving to work, I was presented with this lovely weather…

Luckily when it was time for a caffeine pick me up, my friend…and fellow Dunkin Donut Blog Challenge star Ginny was able to maneuver the storm!

I was able to somehow avoid the donuts, and went with my usual Iced Coffee with Skim Milk!  Instant winner in my book.

Hello, my name is Tyler Ramey…and I have a coffee addiction. Heck, the first part of the problem is ADMITTING to it, right?!?!  🙂

Come on, who can say no to that adorable cup?!?!?!?  Not me, I tell you.

After the caffeine had kicked in, and I was ready to wage battle on my Monday….I eventually headed back to work and had a pretty boring lunch as far as lunches go.

(my office is currently looking like something out of the set of Hoarders…so please forgive me.)

Went for a Subway sandwich, and some of my new favorite “chips”:

Who needs chips when you can have brown rice crisps?!

PS, did anyone notice the new Lady GaGa video in that first lunch snapshot?  She debuted her new video for “Born This Way” today!  Eek!!!

Check it…

What do you think?  Are you a die hard fan like me, or one of those people who are completely confused by her? 🙂  Honest answers, please.

More working occured later in the day, as well as planning for tonights Spin class.  I am in a complete NEED OF NEW MUSIC.  Help me, fellow readers/bloggers!  Any new/old/whatever jams that are currently raging your replay button on the iPod?  This blogger boy needs some new tunes!

On tonights Spin list….

The ones that got left off….

  • Animal – Neon Trees
  • Stereo Love – Edward Maya
  • Because The Night – Cascada
  • Faithfully – Glee (Cooldown)

Fellow Spinners…..what are some of your favorite tunes from your classes?

In closing I leave you with a random snack of the day that is slowly becoming a staple with me.  It combines two very odd ingredients…

Peanut Butter Greek Yogurt anyone?!

Now get out there, and kick Mondays tail!  Make sure to leave me some song feedback!  My class needs new jams! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Rainy Day French Toast

  1. jamie williams

    Tyler… have you heard “Moment for life” and “Fly” by Nicki Minaj??? Of course, you’ll probably want the edited version.. BUT they are good!

  2. Lauraloo

    First let me say YAY!!! I’m so excited that you’re back! I’ve missed you and your entertaining and very informative blogs! Do you know how many recipes I’ve gotten from you, not to mention inspiration when I’m tired and don’t feel like hitting the gym? After seeing how many classes you do in a day I feel confident that I can get through my measly hour and a half workout!!! 😀 And now you’ve got me CRAVING french toast and my DD iced coffee with skim!
    Anyway…about Lady GaGa…not a fan. I’m not confused by her but (and you wanted honest answers right?) I think she’s trying to cash in on the whole Madonna shock value concept and it annoys me (sorry!). People keep calling her an “innovator” and I just don’t see it. To me, it’s nothing Madonna hasn’t already done. That’s my opinion on her…but I LOVE you and I’m so glad you’re back!! 🙂 Please don’t go away again! Short breaks are okay haha…

    • Aww Lauraloo, thanks for the super nice comment! I will disregard the Lady GaGa nonsense. Kidding!!!! She is not everyones cup-o-tea…I am just thankful she is mine! 🙂

      If I can inspire just *1* person to be healthy and fun, then my blog job is accomplished!!! Keep reading and commenting! 😀

  3. french toast is my FAVORITE breakfast. i never make it though. go figure!!

    i love me some gaga, believe that. however, the video is just too long for my short attention span :/

    rolling in the deep by adele has to make it onto your spin playlist somehow, some way.

  4. klh

    I havent had french toast in years…YEARS! I was definitely guilty of drenching it in syrup tho! I LOVE lady gaga but it took me a bit for this new song! I am drawing a blank but I will def get back to you on some jams! Oh and the monsoon like weather…we had that too! BUt the sun is out today…holla! Hope youre having a good day!

    Katie : )

  5. Sharon

    First of all, I can barely type my arms are so sore. Some strange involuntary seizure of the muscles in my left arm is happening but I think I like it. Class was great!

    Have you tried Pop Chips (available at Target in the chip aisle and at Food City in the organic food aisle). These tasty morsels (I prefer BBQ)are not fried, not baked but popped! At only 140 calories for 20 chips, they rock.

    Music ….. Jennifer Lopez – On The Floor, Nelly – Warrior, Flo Rida – Who Dat Girl (remix and standard version), Jessie J – Price Tag, Rhianna – Whose That Chick, Beastie Boys – So Whatcha Want, I only have the edited versions.

    • I LOVE Price Tag…..how did I know we would have the same taste in music?!?!?

      Bwahahahahaha about the arms being sore. Lets see how we all feel tomorrow. If we arent all walking bow-legged, I will be severely disappointed! 😀

      I love Pop Chips, but have you tried Pirates Booty….specifically…VEGGIE Booty???? If not, I am bringing you a bag. Will you be @ the Y tomorrow?

      P.S. when is the trail run, again???

      • Sharon

        I am planning on coming to Zumba for the first time tomorrow night! Whoo hoo!!!! I have not had the Pirate’s Booty Chips. I will def have to try those. I love the song Price Tag! I go around singing it in my head all the time at work.
        Trail Run is April 16th and I believe it is at 3 or 4 in the afternoon. I will run by Fleet Feet and grab a couple of forms. I heart trail running! I have these really neon purple trail running shoes. They are loud and I don’t get to wear them nearly as often as I would like.

      • Lord wear those to TBH! Ok, you have to get up front with me in Zumba!!! I will bring your chips then!

        See you soon!!!

        (5:45am Spin?!?) 🙂

Leave a Reply

