Back, and with SO much to talk about!


BLOGGERSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!  I have not fallen off the earth like many of you probably think.

My life has been full of exciting and crazy changes lately and I have been slacking in the blogging department.  I swear though, now that my schedule has finally reached somewhat of a normality, I am back to blogging in full force…I promise.

Lots of things to talk about!!!  Where should I start?!?!

Well after almost two years of teaching 20+ workout classes a day for a living, I was recently offered a full time position at the YMCA!  I am the new Healthy Living Director.  Pretty swanky title, eh?  I cannot tell you how much the YMCA means to me.  I live and breath the place.  That being said, having a full time position where I get to work with both youth and the community on new health initiatives is pretty much the most amazing thing I could think of.

I am still teaching some classes, but was able to cut them down considerably which gives me much more running/marathon training time as well as for a much needed break on my body!

My new position is fun, exciting, and completely overwhelming.  Good overwhelming, but none the less it is a lot to do.  I am working on everything from youth activities, to creating/maintaining our non-profit Facebook page, to creating new programs, and everything and anything else in between.  It is an absolute blast, and I cant wait to get into it further.

NEXT on the list is my diet as of lately, which has included MEAT.  I never claimed to be a vegeterian, and in fact only did it for a “Lent” challenge that somehow got extended about 7 months.  Starting soon though, I am beginning a new (and very weight intensive) exercise program that is going to require protein out the wazoo.  That being said, I am officially back on the meat train.

Obviously I still won’t be eating much (or any) red meat, because quite frankly, it never appealed to me before….but everything else is back!  It has been quite the adjustment on my body getting used to animal protein again.  I started off slowly with seafood and have gradually added back in chicken and turkey back into the lineup.

Another exciting event is that I am currently blogging from beautiful Hilton Head Island, SC! Vacation days are pretty much my favorite thing about this full time job business.  😉  Check out some vacation good times:

Talk about gorgeous!

I am here with my second family from the gym, the Hoods!

They are part of what makes me, me!

Now lets get to some of the good part of vacation, the FOOD!

It just so happens that both Ashley and Sid are training for the same Marshall Marathon as I am, and it was time for our long run of the week…13 miles!  We decided to conquer it in Hilton Head, which looking back may have been a major mistake!  The humidity is KILLER down here!  Pre running fuel was a waffle with some natural PB!

The run was pretty much the most awful thing you could have imagined.  We did the first 7 miles or so with a solid 8:10 pace….and then the humidity sunk in.  I was a bad runner, and hadnt hydrated myself properly both that morning, or the day before…and I could feel it big time.  About mile 10 I started getting cold chills all over my body, and even dizzy…which has never happened!  I was taking some major walk breaks towards the end…and my pace was probably close to a 10:00 or so.  Depressing!  I just have to keep in mind that it was the humidity and the lack of water that made the run suck!

So after 13 horrendous miles down, it was time to fuel back up.  Does anyone have stomach issues after a long run?  It seems like any run I do that is 10 miles or more completely wreaks havoc on my stomach for hours afterwards.  I originally thought it might have something to do with taking a goo or gel pack during the runs, but I have completely stopped taking those and still have stomach problems.  Who knows.

Good thing was that the long run for the week was OVER, and it was time to fully enjoy Hilton Head!  Needless to say some of the meals here have been out of this world!

Grouper SALAD, anyone?!?!  Sounds weird, tasted fab.

And last night was an amazing New Orleans style place, called Kenny B’s!

This place was COVERED inside with New Orleans decor!

The food wasnt too shabby, either.  Shrimp anyone?!

Thought about my soul sista, Fitnessista while eating these babies…

Since cajun food is spicy by nature…..a cold dessert was of course necessary to cool the flames…right!?!  😉

Mango Rita did the trick, nicely.

We have been eating most of our other meals in the condo…and this mornings breakfast was a definite WIN!  Granola, fruit, greek yogurt, and natural peanut butter!

I love big messy bowls of goodness:

Now if everyone will excuse me…..I have some more fun times to create…

Bye bloggies!  Sorry for the LONG break but I promise I am back!!!

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Back, and with SO much to talk about!

  1. Congrats on the new job! That’s awesome!

  2. I was wondering where you disappeared to 🙂

    Congrats on the new job and welcome back to the wonderful world of meat LOL! So happy for you all around!

  3. Michelle

    Yay! You’re back! I am so excited that you got an awesome promotion. Congratulations!

  4. gina (fitnessista)

    ok i can breathe now. i was so worried about you and my life had this huge void in it without you!! 🙂
    those shrimpies look amazing!
    congrats on the new j-o-b ❤
    xoxo

    • Thank you thank you!!!! I missed you too, sista! I am presenting at a Fitness Conference in September in Raleigh…I wish you could go! Atlanta Mania didnt work out for me with work, but I will be not only at, but TEACHING at the ifta conference! Look into it!

  5. welcome back! hope you have much fun on your vacation, congrats on the job and mmmmmmmm meat! take care!

  6. Congrats on the new job!

    I live in Savannah and work in Hilton Head—so I don’t really get to have fun there like you, but now I know where to eat next time! 🙂

  7. Congrats on the new position! I knew that work and being busy had kept you from the blog and I’m thrilled to see you’re back 🙂 My morning blog reading can return to normal…*whew!*

  8. I love your vacation spot – it’s one of my favorites! And that shrimp looks amazing.

  9. Congrats on the new position!! I am happy you are backkk!

  10. Congrats on the new job! Soooo exciting! It sounds like such a fun job.
    13 miles in the humidity sounds killer – I’m glad to hear you took walk breaks because once you start feeling dizzy/chills/etc. things can go downhill really quickly and even become life-threatening! After a long run (for me, not 13 miles haha! Like 6) or a tough interval run, I get a mild upset stomach too, except I’m still hungry so it’s weird.
    Anyway, I’m glad you’re back 🙂

  11. woooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!! You’re back!!!! SO EXCITED!

    Congrats on the new job! That’s fantastic! And you’ll be so great at that!

  12. this is so crazy- i live right near there and have been to all of those places!! haha

Leave a Reply

