Blue Potatoes?!?!


Who knew spuds could be blue????  I didn’t, until today!

I hope everyone is having a marvelous Monday!  Such bad thoughts are normally associated with Monday…but as an Exercise Instructor, I don’t find em that bad!!!  Mondays are really busy at the gym normally, so I get to see all my favorite people!  (Making em sweat isnt so bad either.)

Breakfast this morning was simple, and delicious.  When I went to the Earth Fizz yesterday, I picked up a couple of yah-mazing looking scones…one of which made it to the plate this morning!

Talk about some pastry love, right there!

Which brings me to my next point, how addicted are you to coffee?

Over the past 8 weeks, I feel like coffee has been sometimes the only thing keeping me from killing not only myself, but everyone around me.  Thankfully this morning I had plenty of time to get up, and make some delicious coffee in the French Press (something I have also not had time for lately…in which case, Starbucks is always willing to help me out with my caffeine needs in a pinch.)

There is something so much more delicious and fresh about actually grinding the beans before you brew the coffee!  Grinders are very inexpensive, and make such a difference in taste!

Oh French Press, how I have missed you so!!!  To check out the in and out’s of the press, check here!  They are super fun.

The bean-o-choice today was a little something I had picked up a while back at a local heath food store…

As I devoured breakfast and prepped for my classes, Oli found an always convenient nap spot.

Needless to say, a drool wipe was in order for the keyboard.  Geez.  The places this dog can sleep!!!

After a few fun filled hours at the gym, it was time to quickly come home and whip up some lunch, all of which came from veggies I had purchased today…including….BLUE POTATOES!

who knew these guys even existed?!?!  Certainly not I!

I sauteed them up in a pan with a bit of butter, and steamed some Broccoli and Carrots…

Check out the middle!!!  Weird, huh?

The verdict???  White, Red, New, Sweet, or Yellow….I love potatoes of any color!!! These guys were great!

Finished off lunch with a handful of my favorite cherries on the planet…

And I will leave you with an article I had the honor of writing for our local paper!  A good friend of mine, Pam Archer, has a monthly Health and Fitness article…and she invited me to guest write on this edition!  I am out to show that ANYONE can achieve a weight loss (no matter how great or small) if they mentally have their head in the ballgame!!!

Enjoy your Monday, everyone!

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Blue Potatoes?!?!

  1. Michelle

    Congrats on the article! That is so great!

    Those potatoes would have been perfect on Independence day.

  2. Mj

    Yay welcome back to blogging 🙂 we missed you~ blue potatoes looks tasty~ I’ve also seen purple sweet potatoes on the blogsphere!

  3. I knew they existed (the things you learn from watching Top Chef)….but I don’t think I’ve ever eaten one!

  4. I have never seen these! They look weird in the middle but i’ll take your word that they’re nice!

  5. hmmmmm . . potatoes . . . hmmmmm . . . .

  6. Oh wow, those potatoes look so weird. Congratulations on the article! Sounds great.

Leave a Reply

