Foot RX 5K!


Wow, can I just tell you how good it felt to RUN in a race this morning?!  This was my first competitive race since the Florida Half Marathon, where I was battling some major knee issues.  After some Physical Therapy….stretches…and some major time off from running, I am slowly getting back into it…today being my first race!

This was actually the race that my running group has been training for for the past 6 weeks!  I was the beginner coach, and it was so amazing see my runners progress over the weeks.  Decided that I was going to run the race at a fast pace…and then I could always go back and finish up with some of my group!

Started the day with some pre-run fuel!

Kashi Go Lean Crunch, Nana, Chia Seeds, and Almond Milk

(note to runner’s racers…..milk is glorious, and super delicious.  I love my cereal with a big bowl of skim milk, HOWEVER….race day…it may prove to be your enemy.  Dairy products have a tendency to cause panic in your digestive systems when running on a full stomach.  So on these days, opt for some Almond/Soy/Hemp/Rice milk instead of the cow stuff, k?)

Chia goodness, I tell ya.

What a day for a race!

Weather was perfect!  It was way more crowded than I expected.

Then it was go time!!!

This course is a tough one.  Pretty hilly, and the hills just keep rolling on and on!  There are two especially rough ones at the beginning, and right before the finish line.  Ouch.

It felt amazing to run back at my old speed/pace.  For short races like this I try to do at least an 8:00 minute mile, or better.  I didn’t have my Garmin with me today…so I just ran as fast as I could on the knee.

Not going to lie, this race kicked my booty!  This was the first time I had run “fast” since Florida…and my body knew it!  Bad part was, I kept seeing friends/co-workers along the course….so I felt the extra pressure to perform.  😉

When I turned around the last massive hill, I saw my time….22:08!!!!!  I was stoked!

Also, my dads birthday was a couple of weeks ago…and as a present, I registered him for this race.  He has been slowly running more and more, and I knew he was itching to do an “official” race.  He rocked it out with a 33:20 time!!!

Steph also was along for the ride, and volunteered to help out on the course!  She also got a free shirt, and snacks after.  Not bad for a days work, eh?

Once we had gotten home, and I checked the official chip times/results online…I was shocked!

Male 20-24
Place O'All Name                      Bib# Age City            St Time    
===== ===== ========================= ==== === =============== == ======= 
    1    35 Tyler Ramey                226  24 Kingsport       TN   22:08 
    2    88 Nathan Bowers              291  24 Johnson City    TN   25:17 
    3   103 Logan Russell              164  23 Johnson City    TN   25:57

The top three of my age group, and I had placed first?!?!?!  Whaaaaat?!?!  😉

(I do believe there was a mistake….because it looks like there was one other guy who beat me and wasn’t included on this list….but hey…I will take first OR second!  😉 )

Apparently I get a trophy!  SAH-WEET!

What a day.  Smile people, it’s SATURDAY!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Foot RX 5K!

  1. GREAT JOB!!!! can’t wait to see the trophy, that is pretty sweet. Hope you have a great rest of your weekend!

  2. Michelle

    Woohoo that’s awesome! I’m glad your knee is doing much better since that half.

  3. Damn! You are fast! Congrats!

  4. Tyler! I’m SO proud of you! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

