Two Part Breakfasts.


When I am forced to wake up at 4:30am and open the YMCA….to things tend to brighten my morning.

A) Coffee.  Lots.

B) Breakfast!

Started out with a couple (hundred) cups of coffee..and breakfast, part 1!  Some Optimum Slim cereal with dried kiwi, almond milk, and a nana.

As much as I despise the initial waking up part of the morning, once my feet hit the floor, I am good to go.  There are several aspects of early mornings that I do find quite groovy, including the potential for productivity which was surprisingly accomplished today!  I worked on the blog for Eight To The Eights as well as planned my Total Body Class tonight (we are doing the Accumulator which is basically a backward pyramid style workout).  Before I knew it, it was time for breakfast part 2, which I started preparing last night after seeing this sad sight:

Almost empty jar of Almond Butter = Overnight Oats In A Jar time!!!!  🙂

This baby contained:

  • 1/2 Cup Oats
  • 1/2 Cup Almond Milk
  • 2 TBSP Chia Seeds
  • 3 TBSP Chilean Raisins
  • Handful Chopped Walnuts

The key to these oats is to prep the night before, stick it in the fridge…and forget about it overnight.

What starts as this:

Turns into…

So creamy and good!  I love it cold, but you can always heat it up.  Whatever rocks your world.  😉

Also…since I was at work until 9:30pm last night, and back at 4:45am…I didn’t really have ample time to blog.  Needless to say, here is a brief recap of last nights dinner shenanigans.  Panera, my wallet curses you for being so close and/or delicious.

Fuji Apple salad, complete with whole wheat baguette bundle of joy.

Hello little millet seedlings in there…I heart you.

Love, Uncle Tyler. (Which technically makes me a cannibal considering I was eating my “nephews”, but thats beside the point.)

Also…found out some amazing news this morning, courtesy of our President! 😉

Buried deep in the health care legislation that President Obamasigned on Tuesday is a new requirement that will affect any American who walks into a McDonald’s, Starbucks or Burger King. Every big restaurant chain in the nation will now be required to put calorie information on their menus and drive-through signs.

Read more, here.

What do you think about restaurants (especially chain/fast food) being forced to list their calories, even on the drive-thru menus?  I am personally ecstatic, and can only hope that some of those numbers will “scare” people into choosing healthier options.  Do you think it will make a difference?

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Two Part Breakfasts.

  1. Jessica

    I’m glad that people will be more aware of what they are actually putting in their bodies. Hopefully a lot of people will start making better choices!
    I really need to make some overnight oats sometime!
    I see your PETA cup and thought I should recommend that you watch the documentary The Cove. It is about dolphin slaughter in Japan. Sorry my reply was sooo random! haha!

  2. i love that idea…why wouldn’t you want to know what you’re putting in your body? A-DOY!

  3. Christie

    We can only hope that putting nutritional information out there for everyone helps them make better choices. I vote for better nutritional teaching in schools, get them while they are young!
    P.S. it was nice to see your smiling face first thing in the morning when I walked into work!

  4. I think it’s LONG overdue for restaurants to be required to post nutritional stats. Bravo!

  5. Amy (Up and Running!)

    I think it’s great that restaurants are being required to do this. If people continue to make poor food choices, at least they can’t use the excuse that they didn’t know it was bad for them. A lot of restaurants advertise “healthy” options that really aren’t good for you at all (Arby’s Market Fresh Pecan Chicken Salad Sandwich, anyone?). Granted, these nutrition facts are already available online but not everyone is as health-obsessed as me and don’t look up the facts. At least now they’ll be right in front of their FACES.

  6. Heather

    I think it is an awesome thing to require them to do this and LONG overdue!!! I agree with Christie – more nutritional classes while they are young – let them know what happens when they put this evil in their bodies !!! I had Hailey watch Supersize Me – she learned quite a bit. Another I wan to watch is Food, Inc. Heard it was full of info!!!
    So nice to start my day with a pep me up from Tyler – I swear it makes me makes better choices all day long. Also talked me ink taking the Total Body Hiit tonight – start praying now ….. Thanks for being you and doing what you do best !!! I heart u bunches 🙂

  7. Michelle

    In Washington every eatery has to put up their calories. This is great for places like McDonalds so that people realize what they’re eating, but for foods that are actually good for you and may be slightly higher in calories, such as lentils, it may turn people off.

    Personally, I like it to realize that the choice I make between two sandwiches is 500 calories.

  8. Ashlei

    I hope the calorie counting scares people into making healthier options too…though at the same time not all calories are created equally, you know?
    xoxo

  9. yans

    I think it will help people some people not everyone cares about calories and being healthy. For people who want to change but don’t know where to start I think this will give them a small place to start because they’ll can make lower calorie choices.

  10. I think the calorie counts are a fab idea- BUT -I feel like they might only work for those who are more educated about nutrition and calories/fat/protein counts. I actually read a study recently that showed some results of cal posts in BK and McD’s in New York. People were actually picking the HIGHER calorie items because they felt like they were getting “more bang for their buck.” Now, these may have been less educated people, or people without much money, but still that’s saying a lot about the way some people think.
    I am looking forward to more places posting cals though; I know it will help me personally.

Leave a Reply

