Easter Shenanigans


How was everyones Easter weekend?!?!?!  I feel like a bad blogger, not updating since yesterday morning!  Sheesh.  Partook (is that a word) in several Easter shenanigans, starting with last nights Easter party.  Look at this cake and tell me you aren’t instantly in lurv.

Oh Mr. Bunny Cake….you are too cute, how could anyone eat you?!?!?!

Oh wait.

He tasted as good as he looked!

First, however, it was time to get down to some business, there were eggs to be colored, people!

Whaddya think?!?!

Egg-antics work up quite the appetite, and it was time for:

Had two slices of a pesto/pepper pie, and a nice big salad!

There may have been a sprinkling or nine of red pepper flakes.  😉

Time for random blog photo shoot time!

Did I mention that the bunny kept staring at me.

I had to take him down.

Had to take care of business!

I also got to introduce my friends to the wondermous that IS Veggie Booty!

We emptied the bag pretty quick, so I am guessing it was somewhat successful.  😉

After a night full of Easter fun it was time to head home and zonk out for the night.  Normally, Sunday morning means one thing….Cracker Barrel!  (or “The Barrel”…right, Gina?!?!)  However since we were having an early Easter lunch, I opted for a simple bowl of cereal with a nana.

Cheetah Bowl = fun times.

When lunch did roll around it was the typical Southern classics:

Here are some Blogger Boy tips for avoiding a buffet-scenario caloric disaster:

  • Small portions. There is always a tendency to want to try it all.  If you feel like this, do it….just get smaller portions.
  • Go Green. If it all possible (this time I had little option) go green and load up on veggies
  • Don’t “Hover”. Make a plate, and stick to it.  A nibble here and there doesn’t seem like much…but do this over the course of an hour while chatting it up, and you can quickly go overboard!

Dessert was present, and I sampled both cakes…but smallllll pieces, and added some fruit for balance.

It was just enough so I felt satisfied….but didn’t have the miserable, overly stuffed, instant regret feeling.  At the end of the day, it just isn’t worth it. You can totally survive situations like this by just sticking to the simple guidelines.  Don’t over do it.  EVERYTHING in moderation!

Which brings me to another point.

40 days ago I gave up all meats for Lent.  Today was the day it was over, and look what was staring me down:

Ham time!!!!

Gotta say though, I have felt better in these past 40 days than I have in a while.  Could it all be in my head???  Sure.  Point is, I felt/feel good and have decided to continue on the no meat quest. Am I saying that I am absolutely 100% vegetarian???  Nope.  I don’t think there is anything wrong with nice lean meats like chicken or salmon.  However, I simply have not missed meat in the least bit!  I feel like if you can get healthy alternative sources of protein, then go for it!  The more the merrier.

How did everyone else’s Lent give-ups go???

Since lunch provided to be somewhat of a carb/sugar overloard….I wanted a nice cold smoothie for dinner.  Add to the fact that I went on a nice long 5 mile HOT walk with my pal Susan.  Something about this hot weather…I am already getting smoothie fever hardcore.  It was time for the Green Monster!

This bad boy had:

  • 2 Cups Spinach
  • 2 TBSP Chia Seeds
  • 1 Frozen Banana
  • 1 Cup Almond Milk

With some oats sprinkled on top for good measure.

Mmmmmmm, green goodness.

Topped the night off with a trip to the bizzle, for the standard iced coffee.

Great end to a great weekend.

Sorry for the massive update/overload.  Normal life/blogging will resume tomorrow.  I hope everyone had an amazing couple of days!!!  Monday…why must you show up so soon?!?!

Heres want I want to know in a nutshell:

  • Did you give up anything for Lent, if so what/how did it go?
  • Did you splurge on some yummy holiday treats?
  • What is your FAVORITE Easter candy?


12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Easter Shenanigans

  1. I would DEMOLISH that ham 😉

  2. i guess i didn’t realize that you gave up meat for Lent…i did too! i definitely feel a lot better not eating meat continuously, but i don’t know if i could do that full time. it made me really want to do the “pescatarian” thing though. tomorrow i’m hitting up the grocery store for some veggies and fish!

    and peanut butter eggs rock my world 🙂

  3. Good for you! I am glad that you are giving up unhealthy meats. 🙂 My boyfriend is doing the same. Since being with me he has adapted a little bit of a healthier lifestyle. I am proud of him!

  4. Love the Easter Bunny cake! tasty tasty little bunny…lol
    I splurged on some yummy cheesecake for Easter. That was my treat and it was so damn good and worth every creamy bite! 🙂

  5. That bunny cake is the cutest thing ever!! I gave up gum, ice cream, and soda for lent and have successfully had all 3 today!! I didn’t cheat at all over Lent. I feel the same way you do about meat now with my gum. I was seriously addicted before lent and when I had a piece today I was like “ehhh, this is ok” So I think I’m gonna keep the no-gum going! Yay for being meat free (well most of the time, Im the same way, and I hate labels)

    Happy Easter!

    • Yea, I don’t want to claim 100% vegetarian, because quite frankly…I don’t think all meats are bad. I hate labels, too! Great job on all the Lent give ups!

  6. Your plate of food looked delicious! That big ole’ bunny cake seemed SO sweet, but the small portion you had was good. Otherwise, it makes my teeth hurt just lookin’ at it!

    I have already hooked a friend on the Pirate Booty (the cheddar flavor) 🙂

    It’s always time for smoothies, but warmer weather makes them taste so much better. Whenever I make a Green Monster, the banana seems to be overpowering. Do you use a whole banana?

  7. I didn’t give up anything…oops 🙂

    I did endulge a wee bit too much yesterday, so it’s detox time for me. After my bag of life savers jelly beans is gone, that is 😉 I LOVE THEM!!

  8. yanna

    I did well over lent without meat but I missed chicken. I realize I can do without things like pork and beef. I’ve decided to do one veggie meal every week.

Leave a Reply

