Rahhhh, Rahhhh, Ooh Laa Laa!


Well, my first run back today went great.  Absolutely NO knee pain!!!  More in just a bit.

Since it is Sunday…it meant only one place for breakfast!

Cracker Bizzle!  Nothing like a big bowl of their oats (plus pecans and a sliced nana) and their lovely Bran Muffin.  Who says you can’t go somewhere like this and eat healthy?!  Met Heather there who is going to apply for our city’s version of Biggest Loser (I get to be the trainer..but not the mean kind.  😉 )

She even brought a notebook to get all the information on applying, etc….talk about dedication already.  Heather, you are going to rock it girl!!!

Fast forward to lunch where I totally regressed back into my elementary days.

Almond Butter and Peach Jam sammie with a hugh jass apple, and some veggie stix.

Deeeeeee-licious.  Sometimes (or always) it is nice to embrace the inner child.

Dearest Sunday,

I love you because you are part of the weekend, but MUST you put me in misery with weather like this:

I swear that Garden Gnome keeps moving closer and closer to the door.  Which just HAPPENS to be right in front of MY room.  *shutter*  And why is he randomly doing the Nazi salute?!?!  A) Who makes these things and B) Why does my mother buy them?!?!?!

After lunch it was time to start prepping for my Running Program that I am coaching at my other gym.  This program gears participants for an annual 5K in the area, and is divided up into three groups.  Beginners, Intermediates, and Advanced.  I was stoked to finally be able to gear up in full running attire!

It was a smidge rainy, but I didn’t let that dampen my spirit.

I was nervous initially because this was my first run since my second Half Marathon, when my knee problem was at it’s roughest.  I completed the race, with a good time…but could barely walk when I finished.  I saw a Physical Therapist when I returned home, and we discovered that it was actually a weak left hip that was causing my knee issues.  Total bummer.  Could have been alot worse, though.  After giving me a strict regimen of hip strengthening exercises, and taking a whopping *3* weeks off from running….I was more than ready to get back into the swing of things.

I was with the beginner group today, and it was SO awesome to see all these people ready to learn how to run.  They were so excited, and a bit scared.  I think runners often times forget how intimidating running can truly be.  I remember when I first started running.  It seemed like this big impossible thing, that I was never going to be able to do, and especially not enjoy.  I remember breathing so hard that I literally thought a heart attack was imminent, and approaching at any second.  You just keep going though, adding on a bit each time.  Speeding it up, running longer…becoming stronger.  Running then somehow transforms from being this dreaded, hard, bad thing….into a therapeutic, enurance building, awesome ride.  I think if everyone knew the feeling of a good strong run, then 99.9% of the population would be running on a daily basis.  *THAT* is why I did this program.  To show these people how to turn it into a positive thing.

All that being said, I think the group did amazing today!  We had over 60 people with very little advertisement, so it is sure to grow!  We do group runs every week, and give our groups homework which they complete during their week on their own.  This can range anywhere from documenting runs, to cross training, etc.

I definitely got my workout in!  I would speed up and try and motivate the people in the front….then run back to the middle…and the back.  After doing this several times, I had worked up a nice sweat!  Boo yah.  Also, NO KNEE PAIN.  Granted, I certainly wasnt out there today to bust out records or even run at what would be considered my “normal” pace….but I did alot of running, and no pain.  I was/am elated.  PS, everyone in my group completed the full 3 miles today without stopping.  Rockstars I tell you, they are rockstars!!!  I cannot wait to help them see improvement over the next 6 weeks.

After the run, I was starving and in need of some veggies for dinner.  Stopped by the store on the way home to try and get inspired, and decided to go for a pasta dish!

Sautéed some veggies in a pan with a tablespoon of oil, and some salt/pepper:

Once they were good and soft, I added some broccoli and spinach to the party:

Combined it with what is now my official favorite spice:

This “spiked” it up (ba dum chiiiiiiii) when I added the pasta.  Transfer to your favorite dish…and perfection!

Mmmmmmm. Passssstaahhhh.

Sam was eyeballing the pasta as I inhaled it.  Jealous pup?!?!?!  Yes…he got a bite.

On that note….the weekend is over.  How does it always happen so fast?!

Two positive notes to end the weekend on:

A) You still have 4.5 hours left to enter the Endangered Species Chocolate Giveaway that I am hosting.  Full rules/information can be found HERE!

B) Guess whose birthhhhhhday it is?!?!?!?

Raaaaaah, Raaaaaaah, ooh la laaaaaaa!  It’s GaGa’s BIRTHDAY!!!! Gina had to remind me, does that make me a bad superfan?!

Here is a nice megamix of three songs, JUST to get you in the GaGa spirit.

Happy Birthday, GaGa!!!!!  This Blogger Boy heartttttts you.  You always leave my class in sweaty messes, groaning in what is sometimes audible exertions of pain, and for that…I thank you.  😉

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Rahhhh, Rahhhh, Ooh Laa Laa!

  1. That was a great description of running. As I’m trying to get back into it it’s a good reminder that it’s not always easy (or ever easy?!). I really need to keep at it because my love for it won’t reignite over night. Thanks lover dover, I needed to hear that!
    Hooray for no knee pain!!!

  2. Current favorite Gaga song = Monster!! “That boy is a monsterrrrrrrrrrrrrrr, that boy is a monster” ❤

    I love that little gnome….no clue who makes them. or why he's doing the Nazi salut. Randommmm. (Can I meet Sam? He's so cute!) Yay for your run today! I totally rocked mine and am going to sign up for a 5K. I'm gonna do it!! I totally know the feeling you described about lung aching, heart pounding like a heart attack is eminent, but none of that for me today. I think spinning and HIIT, plus my running [slowly] is helping. AND I did some sprints too! Hollaaaa!!

    You said "sammie" referring to your sammich…I heart you! So glad you didn't have knee pain! That rocks! Weekend flew by because we were hanging out all day Saturday and it was awesome! Spinning tomorrow! And Yoga ❤

    Happy Birthday Gaga!!!

    Je veux ton amour, et je veux ton revenge. Je veux ton amour, I DON'T WANNA BE FRIEEEEENDS!!! No I don't wanna be frieeeennndssssss. WANT YOUR BAD ROMANCE!

  3. From Party To Hearty

    i don’t like her music but she sure is sexy! Big hopes for the chocolate package haha!

  4. I need to check out Lady Gaga’s new music! She’s so fun!

  5. Heather

    Consider that my BEFORE pic …… Think I just thre up a smidge ……. Upward and onward to better things !! I heart you to the moon and back my friend….. Spending time with you makes my soul shine !!!! See you tomorrow night at yoga !!!

  6. glad you had a pain free run! that’s always great to hear after someone has a knee injury (which seems to be going around blogland! no good!)

  7. Yay for the run!! I’ve had knee problems in the past too, so I know how frustrating it can be!! I never knew Cracker Barrel had such healthy options, that oatmeal looks absolutely delish!! Happy birthday to Gaga- love her!

  8. If I would have found your blog when I started running (August 2008) this entry would have definitely inspired me to run. I felt exactly the same way when I decided that I was going to stop saying “But i can’t run” and just do it! Now, when I hear my friends say it, I just tell them, “Hey I thought the exact same thing, and now look at me!”

  9. gaga said she forgives you 😉
    hope you had a great day ❤

Leave a Reply

