Left hip….why can’t you be more like your brother?!?!


Seriously….all my knee pain has been attributed to the fact that I have a weak left hip.  More in just a bit.

I was dreading my doc appointment, but was excited to go to Salsarita’s for lunch with my dad!  Yummy burrito time.

You choose your meat (or in my case, grilled veggies) and then all the toppings you want!  My beast included the following:

  • Grilled Veggie base (Squash, Zucchini, Onion)
  • Black Beans
  • Guacamole
  • lettuce
  • tomato
  • hot salsa
  • jalepenos (I ❤ it hawt.)

They rolled that sucka up, and I was served lunch!  I even managed to resist their delicious chips.

Totally gross.  😉  Hated it.

I think at some point in my ravage like state of destroying the burrito with my mouth, I may have inadvertently ate some of the paper!!!!  Ah well, I can always use the fiber I suppose.

I then headed straight to the Physical Therapist for an assessment on this ole bum left knee.

This place was so nice!  Not a place I want to FREQUENT, but…still…nice facility.

So after poking and prodding, watching me walk on the treadmill…and some strength tests, it was determined that my left hip is dramatically weaker than my right, and I have been unknowingly overcompensating that by putting pressure on that knee!  He said it could have started while training for my Half Marathon last week…which was totally rushed.  I did things too quickly, and upped my mileage too dramatically.  I knew this going in, but I was still thankful that it was a good prognosis.  I have to do 3-4 weeks of intense isolation strengthening exercises, and then I bump up to some more advanced stretches/exercises.

I basically just have to get my left hip caught up with my right.  Hence the title of the blog, why can’t my left hip be more like it’s brother?!?!  I am officially grounding them both from running, hoping for an attitude adjustment.  Sorry right hip, but one bad hip spoils you both.  So there.

Good news is that I can still teach all my classes!!  I was so terrified I was going to be banned from everything, so that was a huge sigh of relief in itself!  Thanks for all the well wishes!

Headed to Kroger to pick up some goods for dinner.  They have a very respectable organic selection.

Made a huge salad for dinner, and was SO excited to finally have found a Fitnessista favorite to go along side.

Mary’s Crack!!!!!!!!  Yummmmmmmmmy!  Before I inhaled the salad…I snacked on this amazingness:

Honeycrisp Apple (SO good, but so expensive!  This one small guy cost me almost $2.00!), Golden Kiwi, Choco-Goodness Kind bar (semi melted, which made it even bettah.)

I trained some members on the machines, and then headed back into the office to inhale the salad!

drizzled with my fav…

Dessert was in the form of a variety of fruit from the salad bar.  I swear I could eat fruit 24/7 if allowed.

There also may be a Starbucks and some dark chocolate involved later.  Maybe a movie too?  Gotta love a good movie and great company.  Throw in a Soy Latte…perfect Friday.

Also, remember…the OIKOS Greek Yogurt giveaway is still on!  Enter in this post by commenting, telling why you want to receive the Greek Yogurt.  Make sure to provide a contact (i.e. Email)  Winner will receive 4 small containers, one large container, and a super cute tote bag.  One vote per person, and voting ends Sunday at midnight!  😀  Happy voting!

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Left hip….why can’t you be more like your brother?!?!

  1. It’s crazy how everything is interconnected. bet you never expected them to tell you you had a weak hip! At least you can continue to teach your classes, that’s excellent news. Take care of yourself buddy!

  2. Oh man that burrito looks good. I often like to impress people with my food inhaling skills so I feel ya there!! haha.

    Sorry to hear about the hip, but at least your getting it all figured out. You are so smart to go to PT because most people dont! And make sure to go to all your sessions because I know a lot of people drop out and I know from experience with my BIG knee surgery (I tore my ACL, MCL, meniscus) that it DEF helps!

    • I already felt better after ONE session, it was amazing. So weird that knee pain can be attributed to a bum hip. Even odder that a hip can be weaker than another! Crazy!

  3. My hip is actually what caused my knee pain as well. I ran a marathon on that thing!

  4. I’m so sorry about the hip, but so glad it’s not a life ruiner! You can still teach and will get better in no time!! This pleases me 🙂

  5. Fruit is amazing as is, but you really know how to make it look irresistible!

  6. Delicious looking burrito, salad, and fruit. Wow….major jealousy goin on over here….

    Sorry to hear about your hip, but at least it seems like something you can remedy. Good luck on the physical therapy!

  7. Ashlei

    Hope you get that knee/hip all healed up and stronger!! Mary’s Crack is a favorite of mine too! The Fitnessista definitely has good taste! 🙂

  8. That burrito looks so awesome. i want one, really badly but i’m yet to find a place like that over here in Australia.

    You get that knee fixed up quick .. son!

    • Im sure you have tons of great eats!!! Do you live anywhere near the Gold Coast? I used to be obsessed with Big Brother AU, and it was filmed each year at Dreamworld! They built the huge house inside the theme park, it was awesome!

  9. what did you think about Mary’s crackers? I didn’t like them nearly as much as I thought I would! 😦

    • I liked them, but then again…I am obsessed with nutty/seedy things. I can see how they could be a bit much in the flavor department, almost burnt tasting? I am a fan, though.

  10. I seriously can’t get over how IDENTICAL our taste buds are!! Annie’s goddess is my favorite dressing ever (have you tried amy’s woodstock though?! just as good)–and I adore big mexican feasts, spicy food, kind bars and mary’s crack!!!!!!

    Good luck with getting your hips back in balance, just be patient!! 🙂

  11. Must. Eat. Burrito.

    Glad you’re getting help for the hip. Come to think of it, I don’t even know what exercise that is specifically hip strengthening. Do share when you discover.

    And good luck with the half marathon! That’ll be on my goal list after I reach 10K.

    Mmm, is it kiwi season? I think I might have to go for some soon. That and mangos.

    • Love me some fruit, I don’t think there is a single type I do not adore and/or crave constantly. The half was last weekend, and went amazingly well, despite the bum knee!

      You will rock the 10k, sister.

Leave a Reply

