24 Hours To Go!


I am flying to Florida in 24 hours.  *has slight panic attack*  Seriously though, it is going to be cah-rae-zee.

I cannot believe it is finally time for the Gasparilla Half Marathon!!!

The medal is pretty sweet looking, no?  I am pumped!  I am just soooo worried about the knee!  Haven’t had any pain lately, BUT I haven’t ran since I was in North Carolina for AFAA training…I am paranoid/nervous that I have lost all running ability, but I think a majority of that dread is simply the nerves getting the best of me.  I will do fine, I will do fine, I will do fine.  I have to keep reminding myself of that!  Eek!

After a pretty kick booty bowl of oats this morning, I had another glorious nap with the puppers.  If you are active, have time for it, I would recommend that everyone nap on a daily basis.  Especially workout fiends.  It is so good to refuel your body!  If you feel like you need a nap, chances are you do.  I know I personally rarely ever get the recommended amount of sleep per night, so I feel like naps between teaching classes are my “catch-up” period on some decent z’s.

When I woke up from my hibernative state, I had one of my favorite bars for lunch:

This + Bluberries = Lurv.

Perfect fuel to power me through my second Spin class of the day.  I am totally digging the “Express Spin” class at the YMCA.  We do 30 minutes, but I choose the hardest/most challenging songs so that they “cram 60 minutes worth into 30”.  Basically, it is an instant sweat factory.  We were sliding all over the floor while stretching after, which I always know is a good sign.  😉  Plus the ever pleasing, collective “GRRROOOAAAAN” of the participants after the last song, in today’s case…Bad Romance.  Love it!

Headed to Kro-Gizzle after Spin to grab some Baby Spinach to make some dinner to take to work.  I also picked up some bars for Florida, and some Kashi Strawberry cereal.  I am impressed with their organic section, kudos, Kroger!

When I got home I prepared a nice, cold, fruity lunch…which is exactly what my body was asking for.  I did a cereal/fruit bowl, which is one of my favorite meals evah.  The possibilities with this type of meal are endless!  Today I started with a pear and an apple:

And then got my “wet” ingredients ready:

Mixed them together, with a splash of Almond Milk to thin it a bit…

Added my fruit

And my new Kashi cereal

Mixed her up, and added some dried raisins, cranberries, and blueberries:  (Secret is having sauce on bottom so its not a huge mess when you stir!)

I then got started on dinner for work tonight.  Started off by softening some mushroom, zucchini, and onions in a pan with Organic Pam:

When it was nice and golden (and soft), I added the infamous disappearing vegetable!

2 seconds later…

I swear I could add 400 lbs of spinach to a dish, and it would wilt down into 2 TBSP or so.  Amazing.

Packed this mixture up, along with a whole wheat pita pocket, and some natural provolone (for assembly at work later!)

Snacked on this while I fixed dinner:

I am loving my Attunes!!!!!  Yum.

Well bloggies, it is off to work.  Catch ya later for a dinner update…and keep those song ideas coming for my Half playlist!

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “24 Hours To Go!

  1. Natalie

    You are going to do GREAT in the half marathon!!!! xoxo!

  2. krucker

    Mild heart palpitation thinking about leaving tomorrow!!!!!

  3. Meghan K.

    Ok, when you get back you have to post the temps from FL! I have no idea what to expect before the sun comes up…hoping I don’t freeze! 🙂

    Good Luck! You’re going to do great!

    As far as music, I know it’s already been recommended, but I second “Imma Be” by The Black Eyed Peas

  4. I wish I could take naps, but it’s physically impossible. I nod off once in a while in front of the tv but I’m never really asleep. I’ve even tried going to bed, but the light outside confuses me. I just can’t do it!
    You’re going to do fine at the half!! Maybe you should get a knee sleeve just in case? Take some meds before you run, use a sleeve and you’ll have nothing to worry about!
    I should’ve told you it was me on twiter! Duh Julie. My name does not relate to the blog at all. I created it pre-blog when I was just stalking celebs and other food bloggers.

  5. Jessica

    Tyler, I wish I could take your spin class!!! I wanna spin!

  6. thanks for reminding me that I have time to nap because I desperately need it 🙂 and you’ll be fab in your half marathon!

  7. I’m sure you’ll be fine this weekend! You have been doing plenty of cross training to stay in shape!

  8. tonjatoi

    Good Luck and have fun! BTW… picked up some new items at TJ’s cuz of you. =) Pumpkin pancake and waffle mix and chocolate covered edadame. Um.. yeah the later didn’t even make it back to the casa before I broke into them. OMG thank you thank you thank you!!!

  9. I’m looking forward to hearing all about your half! Good luck!!!

    Yeah, what’s up with fresh spinach wilting to nothingness?!

Leave a Reply

