French Toast….nuff said.


Good morning bloggies!  I left last night without blogging dinner…which was a scrumptious Panera dinner…

Mediterranean Veggie (half)…and the Veggie/Pesto Soup…

Dessert was a SURPRISE left for me at the YMCA.  Thanks Heather!!!!  ❤

Had half of this bad boy for dessert….

This was amazingly yummy!  Also got to talking with a new member at the YMCA last night who owns a local cafe (Kaffe Blue).  She told me she is going to start incorporating a large vegan/gluten free/vegetarian menu!  I am stoked!

I am O-U-T of groceries, so had to make a trip by Wal*Mart on the way home, but wished I had time to go to Earth Fare!!!  I am going Sunday, so this stock should hold me until then…

I always tell people that even if they don’t have a Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, Fresh Market, Earth Fare, etc type store…that you can still go to the big chains and find some really good organic stuff!  Shop around the OUTSIDES of these places.  Hit up all the produce and dairy first, then get specific items from the middle to finish it out.  Works every time and prevents those impulse buys of less than nutritional eats.

When I woke up this morning…I had one thing on my mind.  French Toast!!!!

Two slices of my favorite bread plus a glorious bath for dippage:

(Egg Beaters + Cinnamon)

Started to think about a sweet topping, and grabbed some fruit:

I decided to do an Ina Garten inspired “fruit compote” and melted down my favorite natural peach jam:

And added the diced fruit…

Got to grillin the bread…

Then topped this masterpiece…

Plus an always hungry puppy.

(yes, he got a bite.)

Got to work prepping my lunch to take to work….had a request to show the Arnolds Thins in detail, so here ya go!

Knew I wanted a sammie…

YAY for a new supply of my favorite hummus!!!  ❤

Plus some Broccoli Slaw and some Natural Provolone:

It was all I could do to wrap this bad boy up for later.  Paired it with some carrots, and some berries for snack-age later.  Also included some chocolate in the form of my Trader Joe Powerberries and some of my favorite TJ’s cereal!

Packed up all my goodies and headed to work!  Teaching two classes tonight…then Stir Fry Cafe tonight with Maggie!

I will update later with requested Spin CD tracks/listings!  I am excited to see if you guys dig my tunes!  🙂

Have an awesome day bloggies…

How often do you workout during the week?  How often do you do cardio/weights?

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “French Toast….nuff said.

  1. Hi! I’m new to your blog so I thought I’d say hi 🙂

    I love your idea of putting brocolli slaw in a sandwich! I’m totally doing that next time.

    Looking forward to your spinning playlist! I have spin bike at home and am always looking for some good music!

  2. teneightsixfour

    YUM! Loveeee the French Toast! I’ve only heard ah-mazing things about the 7 sprouted grains bread but I haven’t tried it yet…note to self!

    • It’s super yum. Soaks up all the egg mixture and grills perfectly. Plus you don’t have to drown the pan in oil….just a spritz of Organic Pam and your done! 😀

  3. strawberryshortstuff

    I’ve always wanted to try that hummus but was afraid for some reason!? I love all of their other flavs though so now that you say it’s good I’m going to give it a whirl!
    Diana
    http://strawberryshortstuff.com

  4. that’s it. you’re being added to the blogroll. two days and I’m already in love with your site. between the pup pictures, your grocery selections (I go thru a bag of broccoli slaw in about 36 hours) and the great culinary creations, I’m a solid fan.

  5. Cardio 7 times a week/365 times a year 😉

    Weights 1-2x a week when I am not lazy.

  6. Well, I think I know what I am taking for lunch tomorrow. That hummus sandwich looked tasty.

    Nice to know I’m not the only healthy eating blogger to shop at WalMart. It may be an evil corporation, but it is the closest grocery store, so I put up with it 🙂

  7. Angela

    I think I drooled on my keyboard looking at that french toast and that hummus=amazing!

  8. That French toasts looks very fancy! I like it. Pine nut hummus is my fave too 🙂
    I work out 6 times a week, cardio all 6 days and I switch up weights…sometimes I don’t do any at all which needs to change!

  9. French toast looks great!

    I try to workout about 6 days a week and have 1 “active” rest day. I try to do cardio everyother day followed by a day of weights and try to slip in one swim per week. This is what I shoot for weekly (cant say it always happens!).

    mon-60min cardio
    tue-upperbody/abs
    wed:60min cardio
    thurs:lowerbody/abe
    friday:swim and maybe some other cardio
    saturday: a fun class (spin, pump, etc)
    sunday: whatever my heart desires : )

  10. I’m droooooling over your french toast!!! Pretty sure that will make an appearance on my blog soon! 🙂

  11. Hey! I’m semi-new to your blog but we’re Twitter pals 🙂 I workout about 5-6 times a week and I do weights/pilates/yoga about 3 times a week. I’m not a big fan of weights but I love me some pilates!

  12. I try to work out about 5-6 days per week. Cardio 4 times and a couple days of strength training. I’m trying to add more strength training, any tips?

    • I typically do three hard core strength days a week, and do full body. That way you can work EVERYTHING, and only have to do it three times. Make sure to take a rest day (or two) in between days though. Muscles need time to recover to work them correctly! Also try a weight class (Body Pump, Body Blast) anything with that sort of title is going to be an amazing full body workout!

  13. Your pup is too cute, I just want to squeeze him!

Leave a Reply

