Hello North Carolina!!!! :-D


Well, I survived.  After a 3:30am wakeup call…and a 5 hour drive complete with STAND STILL TRAFFIC….we barely made it for the APEX Convention/AFAA Training!

I started out the day last night by mixing up a smoothie:

This baby had:

  • 1 Cup Frozen Strawberries
  • 4 TBSP Oikos Plain Yogurt
  • 2 TBSP Flax Seed
  • 1 Cup Lite Organic Apple Juice
  • 1/2 Banana
  • 2 tsp Natural Peach Jam

Blended it, and tucked it away in the fridge for the night!

I also packed my stash of snacks.  It’s enough to feed an African Elephant….or a hungry blog boy:

We left around 4:00am and started our trek!  There was so much more snow the further we got!

We studied all the way up to North Carolina, with the intermittent laughing and study breaks.  There also may have been some caffeinated beverages involved.  I now have Vickie hooked on Luna bars!!!

My breakfast consisted of my smoothie from the night before, and my second favorite Luna bar in the world!!!  (prize for those who can guess my first.)

Yum!  Perfect breakfast on the go!

After studying like mad people, we finally arrived to the convention!  This gym/facility was super nice…

The day was going to be long, but was split up into sections to help it not seem like one big study session.  We went over the “practicals” first, or when we would actually be performing a mini-routine to be observed.  We then took a lunch break in the CUTEST town ever.  It was like a little mini village…

Decided on a little sandwich shop….

See the little “and bakery” thrown in there?!?!  Boy did they mean it.  Look at this:

Oh Em Gee.

Luckily I was able to distract myself long enough to see the lunch special menu.  This boy loves a bargain…

Friday was wrap day, so I obliged and ordered the veggie wrap…

The soft cheese on this baby (white schtuff.) was ahhh-mazing.  Ate both slices, sans the pretzels.  Wasn’t really feeling them today!  Continued studying at lunch… (dedication, people!!!)

We headed back to the convention, where I grabbed part two of my lunch! 🙂

Love me some Z-Kids….it’s a glorified Chocolate Chip cookie, after all.  😉

We finished up studying, and then our group was split in half.  The first batch of us took the written exam…while the other group went to do their observed practical.  Space was cramped in this place!

We took the written test, and I have to say…it wasn’t as horrific as I had pictured in my mind.  Still alot of Kinesiology and Muscle Groups that I wasn’t too sure of, but I think I did allright!  🙂  I will reserve a final judgement call on that as I wait the *8* weeks it takes to get the scores back!  (Dear sweet Lord.)

Headed downstairs to perform my practical, and made Mandi document for the blog world!  I was pumped and ready to demonstrate some killer squats!

Lucky 32, right?!?!  Did my practical and felt fine with it!  I think all three of us (Mandi, Vickie, and I) had an advantage over most because we had taught before.  Some people were extreeeeemely nervous and jumpy, and I felt terrible for them!  Everyone did great though!

We finished up finally, and headed back to the car where I rewarded myself with a little treat:

Gotta love these mini Lunas!  🙂

We are finally making our way to the hotel…we are going to RELAX and then head out for dinner.  Stay tuned for updates!!!

Been a day so far, have a great Friday night bloggies!!!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Hello North Carolina!!!! :-D

  1. Hey Tyler!

    So glad to hear that you did so well on your AFAA cert. I had no doubts! :0) The group I had today in Atlanta was a fun group, but it would have been even better if you three had been in my class.

    I was catching up on your posts. Congrats on the graduation. You would be an awesome Presenter…you should think about heading in that direction. I’d be happy to help you in any way I can.

    Drive safely coming home. It’s snowing hard here..can you believe it? I still have two more days of APEX to teach.

    • It’s so funny that you mention that, I was thinking today “I would love to teach this stuff!” How do I go about something like that?!?! I had a blast and learned lots, but would rather have been learning it from you, of course!! 🙂 Have fun in Atlanta, drive safe…it is snowing like crazy here, too. I am off tomorrow, and then I have Group Strength on Sunday!!!

  2. I might have to try some of those luna bars – they sound good! :o)

  3. Heather Whited

    SOoooooo glad the day went well and you made it there safely !!
    I’m still stuck on the favorite Luna bar — i thought it was the choc pepermint that you showed – but that is the 2nd fav .. hmmmmm – i’ll have to review and get back with you— i want that PRIZE !!!!! I’m thinking personal training time myself LOL LOL
    Have fun on your day off — hit the Whole Foods and Trader Joes ….. ya’ll be safe !!!!
    hearts and hugs friend !!!

  4. Heather Whited

    OK – i’m gonna say Nutz over Chocolate for the fav Luna bar ……. **crossing fingers i got this**

  5. hahaha – I totally laughed out loud at your snack pack! You are prepared man! 🙂

Leave a Reply

