Kids Can Do Walking Lunges…Right?!


Sure they can.  And sure they DID.  Demo’d the KidFit class tonight and absolutely loved it.  I can’t wait til Thursday when I will be teaching it solo.  Holly, the instructor on Tuesdays, is super nice and I love working with her!  She is a BEAST, and I love it.

Before KidFit I got a semi-decent workout.  25 minutes on the Elliptical, and then headed to the treadmill for some incline/speed work to finish out my hour.  With this hacking cough it makes working out hard, which stinks.  I can’t wait to be back to normal again!

Stopped off at a small Natural Foods store on the way home, and picked up some Quinoa, a Cranberry Orange Nut Bread Cliff (so excited about that one), a Coconut Cream Pie Larabar (equally excited. 😉 ), some chicken broth, and some medjool dates!

Tilapia was on my mind for dinner, and I wanted to try out the Quinoa as well.  Got the fish ready with a little Pam spray, some Old Bay, and some crushed red pepper:

Also prepped the last of my brussel sprouts, and got them ready to roast:

I then tackled the Quinoa.

1 serving of Quinoa with 2 parts organic chicken broth.

Cooked it up, and finished up the fish and sprouts!  Plated yumminess:

The Quinoa was interesting.  Great flavor, but texture wise not as soft as I was expecting.  Still really good though.

And my brussels!  I like them GOLDEN brown, almost burnt.  Love the crispy goodness!

The Quinoa was really good paired with the fish:

Dinner = Success!  Moving on to dessert, and let me just tell you.  This is one of those desserts that belongs in the Dessert National Championships.  Started out with this beauty that I picked up tonight at the Natural Foods Store:

Pretty amazing already, right?!  Well…add some sliced strawberries, and the last of my vanilla FroYo…and you get this:

I swear, the VitaTop is under there!!!

did I mention I heated the VitaTop, so that it was a hot gooey mess???  Help me Rhonda, this was OH-EM-GEE  amazing.

And on that note, Tuesday is toast.  Early morning tomorrow…teaching Spin in Johnson City @ 6:00am, then again at the YMCA for “Express Cycle” at 12:15pm.  Also gonna fit in a trip to the elementary school where I did my Student Teaching last semester and visit everyone!  I have missed everyone SO much…especially my little 3rd graders, they definitely touched my life forever!  I think about them everyday.

Peace Out Cub Scouts!  Catch ya tomorrow!

Your still thinking about my dessert aren’t you???  It’s ok…so am I. 😉

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Kids Can Do Walking Lunges…Right?!

  1. *love* the hot gooey mess 😛 and so vitalicious!

    definitely fear of the unknown… i’m terrified it’s going to torrentially downpour during my race this weekend! guess i’ll… wear a hat? just in case?

    thanks for the comment, blog buddy!

    • Good luck!!! You will rock it!

      When I did my Haunted Half Marathon on Halloween, it was FREEZING and supposed to rain. Rained RIGHT until the start gun went off, then was crystal clear. I think the Running Gods were looking out for us, and will for you as well!

  2. I used to heat a vita top, top it with edys loaded froyo and mounds of cool whip…mmmm…

    Have you ever heated a vita top and slathered it in peanut or almond butter? You haven’t lived until you’ve done that.

  3. I have had that cranberry orange Clif and it was OK. Not one of the better flavors, but not too horrible. Let me know what you think!

  4. Stephanie

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    I absolutely love my brussel sprouts “almost” burnt too! They are so so yummy!

    Okay well off to day dream about that dessert of yours! mmm

  5. Hey, we just came across your blog and loved it. Your story is really inspiring! We would really like to send you a complimentary case of Vita Coco. Let us know if you’re interested. Please e-mail us at info@smile.ly if you’re interested. We look forward to hearing from you.

  6. Okay we are totally getting together soon to bake those Vitatop muffin mix I’ve got!!! LOVE them, they are delicious! 🙂

  7. Neysa

    YES YES YES….students can do walking lunges…and they love them….we do them going down the hall!!! One of my kids’ favorites is wall squats….and they love it when I time them or do “last one squatting”…they beg to do wall squats…and they moan and groan about the burn…but I keep saying,”If it is burning, it is working!”…..I think kids get excited about exercise if they have role models who are excited about exercise and share stories and show exercises!! I have had several parents ask me about my exercise cause their child is going home talking about it…One mother told me that her daughter thinks I am the coolest because I am a woman who worksout!!! Keep sharing the passion with the kids…healthy kids=healthy adults!

    Love you, Tyler and love your blog!!!

Leave a Reply

