Crazy Monday!


My Monday has the potential to be quite insane…Express Sculpt Class, Spin Class, HIGH SCHOOL YOGA! (more on that in just a bit)  So it was definitely time for pancakes.  I decided to try something a bit different and make pumpkin pancakes! 🙂

Buckwheat Pancake Mix + Egg + Milk + Pumpkin Puree =…..

Mixed it up, check out the orange hue…love it!

Heated up the griddle while I prepped some strawberries to co-star with this beast of a breakfast:

When the griddle was nice and warm, I used an ice cream scoop to pour the batter into the pan!

The organic Pam gives it that bubbly goodness:

When bubbles form on the top, flip those babies over!

I love the color that the pumpkin gives the pancakes.  Golden orange and delicious!

Made some homemade pumpkin yogurt by combining more pumpkin puree, and some Greek Gods honey yogurt:

Plated the cakes and berries, and drizzled with the Pumpgurt.  😉

And of course, a drizzle of pure maple syrup.  The doggies were jealous as usual…

(Don’t worry, he got an un-documented bite of pumpkin goodness.)

I will be on the go ALL day until about 7:00pm so I went ahead and prepped a quick lunch for work later.  Took some Earth Fare chicken salad, and stretched it a bit further by adding some diced green grapes, and some crisp celery:

Added a large stalk of celery and about a cup of grapes (I love them!)  Stirred in a large bowl:

(I also added a bit of plain Oikos yogurt to moisten it a bit more!)

Can’t wait for lunch!

So today is the first day of the new pilot program for the YMCA Yoga program for High Schoolers, and yours truly will be hosting it!  I am a bit nervous just because I have been working strictly with elementary age, so high schoolers are going to be a completely different world.  I am going to go through the kids yoga cards, and try to develop a simple yet effective 40 minute class to do today.  Any suggestions from yoga fans/instructors out there???

Today is also my first “Express Sculpt” class which is a 30 minute weight class which will hit all muscle groups starting with large muscle groups, and moving to smaller as the class progresses.  I am excited about it, and hope to get a good turn out.  You never know with new classes how they will work, I am just glad Kim lets me do them and try them!

Going to end today with 5:30pm Spin class.  Mondays are great and PACKED at the YMCA so it makes teaching the class alot easier.  So much energy on Mondays, I love it!

Ok, I am way behind already and it is only 10:00am!!!  Crazy day….bring it on!  Have a good one bloggies!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Crazy Monday!

  1. krucker

    You will do fantastic today despite my airheadedness! Can’t wait for the new classes and the fun to be had =)

  2. I love pumpkin pancakes! I have a pretty good recipe on my blog that you would probably like!

  3. Matt

    Pumpkin is awesome! Have you tried quinoa yet? It’s my new super food and I’m adding it to everything I can…lol. It’s the only grain that’s a complete protein (12-18g protein per 2.5 oz.!!!). Tastes nutty with a nice crunch. As for yoga, you can’t go wrong with the sun salutations, then throw in some nice twists and a back bend. Good luck.

    • Never tried it, but heard alot about it!!! I will give it a try next time I get groceries! I also want to get my chia seeds darn it!

      • Matt

        My pea, hemp and rice protein has chia in it already. They sell it at Natural Foods Market if you want to give it a try. It’s called Lifetime “Life’s Basics Plant Protein”. I LOVE it! It’s the best tasting protein I have ever had. Or try Walgreens in the ‘as seen on TV’ aisle…Cha Cha Cha Chia…lol. I’m sprouting quinoa (pronounced keen-wa. I just learned to say it correctly) and wheat berries for homemade sprouted bread…can’t wait. Quinoa is great mixed in oatmeal too…loving the overnight oatmeal. 😛

  4. Jen

    Those pumpkin pancakes looks awesome!

    I’m a high school teacher so I can understand your nervousness about teaching yoga to teenagers. Keep in mind that they are really conscious about their bodies and that they are balls of raging hormones (most of them). Just be yourself and have fun with them.

    Also – I meant to comment over the weekend – you asked about improving your running. I’ve found that running hills is the best way to increase your speed. If your body allows it – I mean, if you don’t feel any knee or hip pain – try to run hills. I get on the treadmill at 6-10% incline and run for 20-30 minutes. I do that 2-3 times a week. When I started doing hills, I dropped about 1:30 off my mile time. Hills are magical!

    • Yea, I try to do hills from time to time…they kill me, but I know it will be worth it in the long run! Thanks for the advice….I have the basic class ready, just gotta go try it out! I will let you know how it goes.

      PS you are brave to do it for a living. 😉 I have my degree in K-6 Education, and can’t imagine Secondary!!!

Leave a Reply

