Daily Archives: January 25, 2010

Late Dinner

Spin was A-W-E-S-O-M-E tonight.  Bikes were full within *3* minutes of sign up, and everyone gave 110%.  I love nights like those from an instructor standpoint because it makes it so much easier to be enthused and energetic when I have an entire class of people really pushing themselves.  Great, great class.  Here was the playlist:

  1. Replay-IYAZ   warm up
  2. Can’t Get Over-September lifts with added resistance throughout
  3. Crush Crush Crush - Paramore  seated/running sprints
  4. Monster – Lady GaGa seated climb with jogs
  5. Fame – Lady GaGa lifts with added resistance throughout
  6. Telephone – Lady GaGa hover slides
  7. Why You Had To Leave - Cascada seated climb with jogs
  8. Misery Business - Paramore seated sprint combos
  9. I Will Love Again – Lara Fabian lifts with heavy resistance
  10. Break Apart Her Heart – Good Charlotte  climb/surge with speed intervals
  11. Deborah Cox – Absolutely Not  lifts with added resistance
  12. I Can’t Stand It - Cascada seated/running  sprints
  13. Heat Me Up – Allison Iraheta lifts
  14. Paparazzi – Lady GaGa seated climb with speed intervals
  15. Bad Romance – Lady GaGa lifts/seat with added resistance throughout
  16. Didn’t Know My Own Strength – Whitney Houston cooldown
  17. I Look To You – Whitney Houston  cooldown

With the 5:30 spin class, and then talking to everyone afterwards, it always tends to make for a late dinner.  I went to Ingles for some inspiration and ended up with:

Brussel Sprouts, Boca Crumbles, and a Sweet Potato.

I washed and peeled the sprouts and spud, and laid them out on a baking sheet.  Oil, salt, pepper…

I used Ina Garten’s roasted brussel sprouts recipe, cannot go wrong with Ina.

Both the veggies cooked at 400* for 40 minutes.  Turning them every 5 minutes.

The Boca crumbles got browned, with a TBSP of tomato paste…

And some reduced sugar ketchup.  Grabbed a whole wheat pita, and stuffed when cooked through.

Grabbed the veggies out of the oven:

Plated up…

And ate in 4 seconds flat savored every bite.  Dessert was a must and included thawed frozen strawberries, and one of best friends:

He and I go WAY back.  ;-)

dreamy.  The dogs most certainly got none of that, however the evening did seem to tire Oli out considerably:

I am pretty sure that she sleeps at least 21 hours of the day.  The other 3 hours are dedicated to driving me insane with a multitude of chewed up toys, and bathroom breaks where she most often just ended up chasing invisible animals around.  (I swear she has mental issues.)  Love her though!

Hope everyone had a fun and productive Monday….bring it, Tuesday.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Happy Monday!!!

Happy Monday my beautiful bloggies!  Hope everyone is having a great day thus far! :-)

My YogaKid class was this morning, which required some early energy with a Tall Soy Latte:

This is probably hands down my favorite drink from Starbucks.  The Vanilla Soy Milk they use is SO good and sweet.  Really gives the coffee an amazing flavor without having to add additional sweeteners.  My favorite part is the last drink of complete soy-joy foam sitting at the bottom.  YUM!

I headed to the local elementary school for the YogaKids class after picking up the mats from the YMCA.  The kids are SO funny in this class, and they did really well!  The Yoga Cards worked well, and showed all the poses perfectly.  We talked through each one, and had a zen music session going thanks to Pandora on my phone (Soothing Waters Mix) which was the perfect music to get us calm and relaxed. ;-)  The cards take all yoga poses, from simple to complex, and break them down into easy to use kid form and change the terminology.  We did some fun ones this morning that included:

  • Upward/Downward Dog
  • Cat Pose/Cow Pose
  • Flamingo
  • Stork
  • Tree Pose
  • Lemon (cute one where they lay on their back and clench their toes)

It was a fun way to get the day started!  Tomorrow is the “cardio circuit” and I am going to set up six different stations, where the kids will do each one for 3 minutes.  They will include:

  • Jump Rope
  • Mountain Climbers (with discs)
  • Bicep Curls
  • Abs (crunches, bicycles)
  • Jump Squats
  • Burpees (modified!)

Should be fun times!  I am a big supporter of fitness for kids.  I feel like when I was in elementary and especially middle school there was simply no push for any form of physical exercise.  I think this can highly contribute to not only childhood obesity, but to just laziness in general.  If I can get ONE kid up and motivated to get activated, then I will be happy!  These kids need to see that healthy can be fun, and can be so easily integrated into their daily routines.  Thats my soapbox for the day anyway. :-)

After YogaKids I headed back home for breakfast.  I was inspired by Jenna and decided for French Toast!

Love this bread.  So grainy and hearty.  Took two slices of this, and dredged it in this glorious concoction:

  • 1 Medium Egg
  • 2 TBSP Fat Free Milk
  • Cinnamon (I used quite a bit, hence the brown hue)

I read recently that one teaspoon of cinnamon per day can help the body metabolize sugar 20 times faster.  If that isn’t reason enough to incorporate the spice, I don’t know what is.  Soak that bread, then into a hot pan with organic Pam:

Griddle those bad boys til they sing to you!  (ok, until golden brown.) ;-)

Love all the crispy egg bits on the sides.  Yum, yum yum.  Needed some fruit so went with a pear that was on the verge of a post-ripened death:

And rounded it out with my favorite Facon! (Faux Bacon) aka Morning Star Veggie Bacon:

And there we have it.  French Toast that would make any mama proud:

Mmmmmmmmmmmm.

After that breakfast it was definitely time for a coma work to be done.  ;-)  I started working on my Spin CD for both tonight’s class, and Wednesday morning’s class.  Thank goodness for teaching at two gyms.  I can use the same CD twice, and no one knows the difference.  :-D  I have been on a total Lady GaGa kick, and am convinced that Bad Romance, Monster, The Fame, and Paparazzi will be on every workout CD until I die, or my class revolts.  Whichever comes first.

My other gym called today and offered me a Kid Fit class to add to my Thursday schedule.  Works perfectly with the other gym, and leads right into my weight conditioning class, so score!!!  The Kid Fit class is a 50 minute class where the instructor pretty much has complete control and can just do different cardio/circuit workouts with the kids.  I am so excited to start planning for it, and as always, excited for more classes!  Pile them on people, Tyler needs some moolah! :-)

Came back to Starbizzle (yes…again.) for some take out lunch, and a big iced coffee.  How do I manage to sit at Starbucks for hours on my laptop, and not annoy the employees???  Simple….give them MONKEY CHOCOLATE!!!! :-)  Had some leftover dark chocolate from the movies last night and gave it to Jill.  The peppy, adorable, sweet girl who comes to my classes at the YMCA:

Yay for chocolate!  Munched on some leftover Japanese plus some steamed broccoli:

Too excited for a Monday???  You be the judge:

What can I say.  I am normally overly excited and glee-ish.  If thats even a word.

Lunch was so yummy!  Why does food like this always taste better cold and 12 hours old?!?!

There also may have been a Venti Iced Coffee involved:

Time for some actual work now.  Have to finalize my CD for spin tonight, and head to the YMCA to work on some things before class.  Have an awesome Monday everyone!  I leave you with some adorable puppy action from this morning:

Come ON people, does it get any cuter?!?!?!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized