Daily Archives: January 23, 2010

Breakfast ‘O Champs.

With a full crazy *5* hours of cycling to do today at the YMCA for the Spin-A-Thon (crazy right?) I knew I needed a breakfast that was going to stick with me.  Insert my new obsession:

Spelt Flakes!!!!!! Love these guys!  So much more substantial than regular oats.  They seem to stick with me longer.  With these beauties were the classics:

While assembling all the yummy fixings, I forgot one important ingredient in the photo:

I swear I go through the large tub of this stuff in like 4 days.  Love me some greek yogurt!  I just think it is so much smoother and thicker than plain ole yogurt.  I am Greek For Life….ya dig!?  The spelt flakes look a little different and cook a bit different than regular oats:

Spelt Goodness.

Once they cooked for 3 minutes I poured into a cute bowl and added:

  • 1/2 Scoop Jillian Micheals Vanilla Cream Protein Powder
  • 1 TBSP Skippy All Natural PB
  • 1 Diced (and beyond ripe) pear
  • Dollop of Yogurt (obv. not an exact measurement ;-) )

Stir……and voila!  Instant yummy spelt flake bowl:

Heck, even Sammy wanted some.  Of course….he has proven to be the most UN-PICKY dog I have ever known in my life.  What can I say, he is adventurous and like his father, will try anything healthy and delicious.  This breakfast totally met with the Sam seal of approval:

ps, it was gone in about 7 seconds.  Sorry Sam, maybe next time there will be more leftovers: ;-)

Well, I feel sufficiently carb’d up and ready to take on an intense day of cardio.  Time to lug all the supplies I bought for the Spin-A-Thon to the YMCA and get everything ready.  Hope they all like Lady GaGa, because I am in charge of the music and I need her for inspiration.

puh, puh, puh, poker face, puh, puh, poker faaaaaaaace.

Have a great morning, enjoy this great Saturday!

What are some of your favorite breakfast options???  Do you have the classics that you always repeat (like moi) or are you constantly switching it up?  Any new and fun breakfast ideas?!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Pizza, Tea, and Sugar Cookies…..OH MY!

Well after a successful 8 miles today with Em, my eyes were set on dinner!  The run plus the fact that I will be spinning/cycling for FIVE hours tomorrow for charity (way more on that in tomorrows blog), meant that I deserved some pizza!  We went to my favorite local pizza place:

After Steph and I considered which pizza looked good to split, we settled on this:

We went with the Caribbean, which was olive oil based with pulled jerk chicken (YUM) and spinach and onions.  We ordered a small with LIGHT cheese….I had this x2:

Great pizza with some GREAT company.  I always love eating with this crowd.  Steph (the best friend) and Denise (our second mother)…others were with us but too busy stuffing their face to pose for the blog, oh well…I am sure they will surface sooner or later down the road. ;-)

I am *the* pirate pizza warrior….RAWR:

Next, it was off to Starbucks where I started off with a non-fat Earl Grey Tea Latte:

I can’t decide if I like this or not.  The tea was a BIT overpowering, but I am pretty much obsessed with steamed skim milk.  It is like hot delicious whipped cream!  Does that sound gross to anyone??? haha.  With the tea I had these little organic babies which were DELICIOUS:

Gluten Free and so yummy!  They were like small little snickerdoodle crisps!  Def a snack I would eat again!  Now it is time for chess and fun times at Starbizzle with Emily, Russel (her hubby) and Steph (the best friend!!!)  Fun times indeed!  Night night blog world, until tomorrow….the SPIN MARATHON!!!  I am so stoked.  Don’t worry, I will take tons of pics for you guys!  Lets hope I can survive cycling for *5* hours….eek!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized