The epic…or not, first post. :D


Where to begin?!  After many, many months of reading some of my favorite foody/active girl blogs, I have decided it is finally time for this “blog boy” to start one of his own!  Sheesh, we have alot to talk about and get caught up on so I will start off about 3 years ago.  I weighed 318 pounds and was completely miserable:

My typical meals included TONS of fast food, and anything greasy and/or fried.  I was probably consuming roughly 5,000-6,000 calories per day.  I randomly had to go to the doctor and was told that I was pre-diabetic, and needed to go on high blood pressure medication.  That was enough of a wake up call for me.  I decided right then and there to change my life.  That was my “this is it” click that it took to get my butt in shape, and to do it the right way.  I started working out and eating healthy and dropped the weight over the span of three years.  Fast forward to today:

I am a happy and healthy 180 lbs!  I am not going to say it was easy…far from it.  However, I have never felt better in my life, and try to use my story to inspire others.  I work for the YMCA and teach group exercise classes there.  I teach cycling, and a total body weight conditioning class.  I absolutely adore teaching fitness classes and know that it will be a life long calling.  It is my true passion in life to inspire others to feel as good as I do!  I also teach at another local gym as a cycling instructor.

I am an avid runner and consider it a passion as well.  I just completed my first half marathon in October and actually placed third in my age group!  I was shocked and delighted!  Ran that race with my AMAZING friend Emily who runs the exact same pace as me  (she got FIRST in her age group, and I was totally jealous!).  It was so great having her right by my side the whole time.  Made 13 miles not seem so intense!  Here we are in race glory:

Thats all I can think of for right now!  I *attempt* to eat all organic, and cannot wait to share stories of food and fun times!  If you have any questions leave me a comment and I will be sure to get back with ya!  I hope this blog will be a nice way for my to catalog my life in a way, and keep me on track!  Planning an 8 miler tomorrow (prepping for another half at the end of Feb) so I am already thinking about breakfast….hmmmmm….

31 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

31 responses to “The epic…or not, first post. :D

  1. Grant Ramey

    The first picture is unbelievable. The second picture makes me feel fat. The third picture makes me feel fatter.

  2. Emily

    I made it to the blog!!!!!! YAY for you becoming a blog boy!!!! Your before and after pictures are amazingly different….you will continue to inspire others, I’m sure of it!!!!

  3. i AM SOOOO excited to have a male’s blog to read!!

  4. You’re amazing! What an inspiration. 🙂

  5. Welcome to the blog world!! Your photos are incredible!! What an inspiration. I look forward to reading more!

  6. Awesome, congrats on the weight loss and welcome to the blog world 🙂

  7. Hi Tyler! Big huge congratulations on all that you have achieved (and will continue to achieve)!! It’s about time we get a boy’s perspective around these parts 😉

    You are an inspiration to many!

  8. I love it!!! thanks for your story- it’ll be great to get to know you!

    • I cannot wait to get to know you guys!!! Its so weird that there are actual people READING this, and I am not just sending it out into the cosmic void. haha

  9. Hmmmmm thought I just posted but maybe not! Thanks for your story!! I look forward to getting to know you!

  10. Very impressive! I’m a newb to the healthy food blogging too, those girls are so motivating. I look forward to reading your blog as I’m sure you will be equally inspiring!!

  11. Wow! Awesome story, you look great!!

  12. So excited to discover a guy’s perspective 🙂

  13. Deb

    Tyler, I was told by others that you used to be much heavier but could never picture it. Now I know why – this early pic doesn’t look like you. Keep it up. You are an inspiration.

  14. Emily

    Great story!! Can’t wait to read more!! =]

  15. Clisty

    You are awesome! You took control and now look at you, Abercrombie model baby, lol…..I am proud of you!! 🙂

    • Abercrombie is a total stretch….hahahaha, but thank you SO much! Please keep reading! This blog is making me totally accountable, and I am loving keeping it up to date. You are truly dedicated to fitness and a healthy lifestyle and is definitely apparent! Thanks girl!

  16. Juanita Roberts

    Tyler,
    I just realized you had a blog and I love it! I just wanted to let you know that I am so glad I got to know you, I miss your classes and maybe some day soon I can coordinate my schedule so I can take a class/work out with you/or just simply see you long enough to catch up! You are a sweet guy and a fitness inspiration to others. Love Ya little bro!!!!

  17. Karen

    OMG! I am back in touch with one of my FAVORITE people!!! Tyler you are such an encouragement. I even became a fitness instructor myself with you as an influence. From one cardio lover to another you ROCK! I will be reading this blog daily to stay motivated!

    • KAREN! You are *my* inspiration girl. I will never forget all those Tuesday mornings, when Amy would be like “and for high intensity just watch Tyler and Karen!!!” I miss those days SO much and you! Yes please lets stay connected, and a road trip is most certainly in order asap.

  18. My little Tyler! I can remember you in the first picture… in storytelling with me. I am so proud of you and can’t wait to keep reading more! Your pictures make me so hungry, but finding good organic food up here is pretty much pointless. Hah! Keep going, buddy.

    • Netha!!! I know, seems like so long ago, doesnt it?!?! That was such a fun class! I remember we had to do some sort of ice breaker game that first day of class, where we had to tell 3 things…one of which was a lie. I remember saying “Well I run 5 miles a day” and everyone laughing. I guess the joke is on them now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

