Daily Archives: March 5, 2010

Left hip….why can’t you be more like your brother?!?!

Seriously….all my knee pain has been attributed to the fact that I have a weak left hip.  More in just a bit.

I was dreading my doc appointment, but was excited to go to Salsarita’s for lunch with my dad!  Yummy burrito time.

You choose your meat (or in my case, grilled veggies) and then all the toppings you want!  My beast included the following:

  • Grilled Veggie base (Squash, Zucchini, Onion)
  • Black Beans
  • Guacamole
  • lettuce
  • tomato
  • hot salsa
  • jalepenos (I <3 it hawt.)

They rolled that sucka up, and I was served lunch!  I even managed to resist their delicious chips.

Totally gross.  ;-)  Hated it.

I think at some point in my ravage like state of destroying the burrito with my mouth, I may have inadvertently ate some of the paper!!!!  Ah well, I can always use the fiber I suppose.

I then headed straight to the Physical Therapist for an assessment on this ole bum left knee.

This place was so nice!  Not a place I want to FREQUENT, but…still…nice facility.

So after poking and prodding, watching me walk on the treadmill…and some strength tests, it was determined that my left hip is dramatically weaker than my right, and I have been unknowingly overcompensating that by putting pressure on that knee!  He said it could have started while training for my Half Marathon last week…which was totally rushed.  I did things too quickly, and upped my mileage too dramatically.  I knew this going in, but I was still thankful that it was a good prognosis.  I have to do 3-4 weeks of intense isolation strengthening exercises, and then I bump up to some more advanced stretches/exercises.

I basically just have to get my left hip caught up with my right.  Hence the title of the blog, why can’t my left hip be more like it’s brother?!?!  I am officially grounding them both from running, hoping for an attitude adjustment.  Sorry right hip, but one bad hip spoils you both.  So there.

Good news is that I can still teach all my classes!!  I was so terrified I was going to be banned from everything, so that was a huge sigh of relief in itself!  Thanks for all the well wishes!

Headed to Kroger to pick up some goods for dinner.  They have a very respectable organic selection.

Made a huge salad for dinner, and was SO excited to finally have found a Fitnessista favorite to go along side.

Mary’s Crack!!!!!!!!  Yummmmmmmmmy!  Before I inhaled the salad…I snacked on this amazingness:

Honeycrisp Apple (SO good, but so expensive!  This one small guy cost me almost $2.00!), Golden Kiwi, Choco-Goodness Kind bar (semi melted, which made it even bettah.)

I trained some members on the machines, and then headed back into the office to inhale the salad!

drizzled with my fav…

Dessert was in the form of a variety of fruit from the salad bar.  I swear I could eat fruit 24/7 if allowed.

There also may be a Starbucks and some dark chocolate involved later.  Maybe a movie too?  Gotta love a good movie and great company.  Throw in a Soy Latte…perfect Friday.

Also, remember…the OIKOS Greek Yogurt giveaway is still on!  Enter in this post by commenting, telling why you want to receive the Greek Yogurt.  Make sure to provide a contact (i.e. Email)  Winner will receive 4 small containers, one large container, and a super cute tote bag.  One vote per person, and voting ends Sunday at midnight!  :-D  Happy voting!

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Knee Update.

Well, while I thought my knee was doing semi “ok” it has flared up in a maaaaajor way this morning, almost to the point where I couldn’t finish spin class.  I have bitten the bullet, and am going to the doctor (Physical Therapist) today to have him look at it…so wish me luck!  I am hoping beyond all hopes that it is not something that requires me to take “time off” because working out = Tyler’s paycheck (or lack there of).  :-(  We shall see.  On to more inspiring news…such as the mini clif I inhaled at crack thirty in preparation for 5:45am spin.

Headed to spin, felt fine for the first 40 minutes or so, then the knee began killlllllling me.  It is the only time I have ever been counting down the minutes until class was over.  Depressing, blah.  Theres no swelling, and the pain is below the left knee…but it feels like it is deep inside.  I can only describe it like a piercing feeling that just jabs harder when I put pressure on the foot, go up or down stairs, or do the pedaling motion in spin class.  Sad times indeed.  Hopefully the Doc can tell me what is going on later.

Came home and prepared a breakfast that made me almost completely forget my knee pain.  Yep, it was that yummy.  Started with the Millet-lovin’

Then made a nice bath for it to swim in, pre-pan.

Soaked the bread in the egg mixture, and then put those babies in the pan!  (forgot to add the massive amounts of flax seed to the above picture. )

While the French Toast browned on both sides, I chopped up some strawberries and a huge mango:

Also heated up the STAR ingredient in the microwave…

Ashlie gave me this bad boy last night in class, and I could not wait to use it (obv. ;-) ) It is so fun to finally meet a blogger.  Crazy that we lived so close.  We are already planning Tampa trips (your coming too, Krucker and Emily) and visits to Earth Fare!!!  She also has a VitaMix that we get to play with!  I am so stoked!  Back to the toast. :-)  I browned it up, and smeared the heated coconut butter on top.  Are you drooling yet???  Because I am, and I have already EATEN it.

Dear.  Sweet.  Big Bird.      This was amazinggggggg!  I have to get a big jar of that coconut butter, stat.  Hurry up and get back from Florida, Ashlie…we have some trips that need to occur. ;-)  Sad times followed when I realized my mini jar was already gone!

I’m tempted to do the world’s smallest “Oat’s In A Jar” with this. haha

Also, Sam was craving a mango.

And yes, he got it.

Ahh, to live the lives of dogs.  Look at them!

On that note, it is time for lunch.  I am meeting my dad at one of my favorite Mexican places, Salsaritas!  I refer to it as a “Mexican Subway” because it is basically a build your own burrito joint.  Totally yummy.  Check it out, here.

Also, remember…the OIKOS Greek Yogurt giveaway is still on!  Enter in this post by commenting, telling why you want to receive the Greek Yogurt.  Make sure to provide a contact (i.e. Email)  Winner will receive 4 small containers, one large container, and a super cute tote bag.  One vote per person, and voting ends Sunday at midnight!  :-D  Happy voting!

Time for lunch, and then the doctor.  I am still five years old and despise the doctor.  Maybe I can get a sticker or candy out of it.  ;-)  Wish me luck!

Also, for the Survivor fans out there.  Was that Tribal Council last night awesome or what?!?! I love me a good blindside.

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized